Basis for resilient harm assessments in damage claims

Document Quick Check

Problem: Estimating the volume of damage caused by cartels

Collective damage actions have already increased significantly and - not at least as a result of EU regulation - will become even more important in the coming years.

However, one challenge remains and is even gaining in relevance: the identification, quantification and proof of the damage incurred. Commercial practice has shown that obtaining information from large volumes of data and documents substantiating damages and presenting it in an evidential manner continues to be a major hurdle to the necessary substantiation of claims for damages.

Solution: Document Quick Check

With a compact Document Quick Check, it is already possible to make an initial assessment of the distribution of suppliers, the nature of the documents, pages or even initial statements on the content of individual components of the invoices/documents .

By means of quickly trained AI models and other tools, statements can be made about quantity structures, quality of the documents (visual, content), complexity of the layouts (long tail / fragmentation), relevance of the documents (document types), consistency of the data sources as well as possibly missing documents.

For whom is a Document Quick Check useful?

 

Injured companies

You have learned of the existence of a cartel from which you may also have suffered financial damage and are wondering how large your damages would be? We support you in the preparation of your damage-related invoices and receipts - from collection to possible digitization and data extraction.

Litigation financier

Do you want to calculate the economic viability of a specific case? Get a quick estimate of the scope of damage of the invoices already available at this point in time. Even if it is only a small section of the total volume, it is often already possible to make an extrapolation to the entire cartel case on this basis.

 

Lawyers

You would like to represent one or more clients in the enforcement of their claims for damages and would like to provide an initial legal assessment or an initial expert opinion for this purpose? For this purpose, we can provide you with a quick and reliable statement on the scope and composition of individual purchases on the basis of the documents already available.

Experts / Economists

You are working with a law firm on a new cartel case and would like to quickly calculate an initial damage model without having to deal with generating the necessary purchases at item level yourself? By providing you with a valid database, we can help you to develop the damage theories and thus focus on the preparation of the expert opinion.

Your advantages with a Document Quick Check

i

More transparency

You receive the basis for an early and solid assessment of opportunities, risks, expenses and time planning.

}

More speed

The necessary work steps are structured from the outset in such a way as to ensure rapid and smooth implementation.

Better substantiation

The scope and quality of the document and information bases for the lawsuit are optimally structured from the outset.

What questions you can answer after that...

...everything around the documents
  • Do the documents have to be collected by the client?
  • How good is the optical quality of the documents?
  • Do the documents still need to be scanned or scanned again?
  • Can the required information be identified and extracted?
  • How many different layouts are in the document stock?
  • How complex are the structures of the different layouts?
  • Which document types are included (e.g. invoices, delivery notes)?
  • What information do the different document types contain?
  • How many business partners do the documents come from?
  • How are the quantities distributed among these aspects?
  • Which documents and data do the clients have to provide?
  • Can irrelevant documents be omitted from the outset?
  • Are there individual articles that need to be evaluated?
  • What is the damage-relevant order volume per document?
  • Can/must there be redaction on the documents?
  • Are there criteria that make processing difficult/impossible?
  • Are there specific details on work steps, effort and duration?
...everything around data
  • Which data model could probably be applied (because of the damage model)?
  • What information is required? How is consistency established with the data model for expert opinions and legal argumentation?
  • Is the document-related data consistent with transaction lists already available (e.g. from ERP systems)?

This is how we proceed together

  1. Together we define the objectives and the relevant questions.
  2. We enter into a non-disclosure agreement (NDA).
  3. We conclude a contract for (pre-)processing.
  4. You provide us with the documents, either:
    - we collect the file orders/documents from the client or
    - you send us the file orders/documents by courier/forwarding company/mail or
    - you upload the documents already available electronically to our portal or
    - we download the documents already available electronically.
  5. Using our IDP platform, we process these automatically and quickly.
  6. In one or two iterations we provide you with the results in a structured way and coordinate the conclusions with you.
  7. Based on these results, we work with you to determine the data model, necessary work steps and the timetable up to the filing of the lawsuit.

 

These are the experiences of our customers:

"A clean and early preparation of the documents substantiating the damage is of essential importance in antitrust proceedings. If the necessary attention is not paid to this from the beginning, one suffers afterwards from high expenses under sometimes strong time pressure. In our experience, inserve GmbH is a strong, reliable and efficient partner when it comes to the preparation of such damage facts. inserve delivers high-quality, cost-effective and timely results from data analysis."

Dr. Christian Classen

Legal Counsel, CDC Cartel Damage Claims

"In the context of a mass evaluation of data, we were able to benefit considerably from inserve's artificial intelligence. The information we needed was processed within a very short time and provided with very good quality. After a brief clarification of the project brief, inserve's team proactively provided suggestions for any difficulties that may have arisen due to the quality of the database. After just 12 working days we received back the complete analysis of over 10,000 transactions from over 40,000 documents. We are very pleased with the results and would use inserve's service again and again."

Tanja Seißer

Head of Finance & Controlling, HANSA-HEEMANN AG

Request a demo of the procedure and advice for a Document Quick Check

Arrange a free appointment now for a non-binding consultation to carry out a Document Quick Check. In a joint discussion, I can analyse the problem at hand with you and create a needs-based concept, including a time schedule.

Ben Peters

Schaffung belastbarer Entscheidungsgrundlagen

Document Quick Check

Problem: Abschätzung des Schadensvolumens von Kartellen

Kartellschadensersatzklagen haben bereits stark zugenommen und werden – nicht zuletzt in Folge der EU-Kartellschadensersatzrichtlinie – in den kommenden Jahren noch weiter an Bedeutung gewinnen. 

Doch eine Herausforderung bleibt und gewinnt sogar noch an Relevanz: die frühzeitige Ermittlung, Berechnung und der Nachweis des entstandenen Schadens. Denn erfahrungsgemäß bilden die zuverlässige Einschätzung des Erfolgs- und Ertragspotenzials eines derartigen Verfahrens nach wie vor eine große Hürde für notwendige Fallabschätzung, Finanzierung und Mandatierung der Schadenersatzklagen.

Lösung: Document Quick Check

Mit einem kompakten Document Quick Check sind bereits eine erste Einschätzung über die Verteilung der Lieferanten, die Beschaffenheit der Dokumente, Seiten oder gar erste inhaltliche Aussagen zu einzelnen Bestandteilen der Rechnungen/Belege möglich.

Mittels zügig trainierter KI-Modelle und weiterer Werkzeuge können Aussagen über Mengengerüste, Qualität der Belege (optisch, inhaltlich), Komplexität der Layouts (Long Tail/Fragmentierung), Relevanz der Belege (Belegarten), Konsistenz der Datenquellen sowie eventuell fehlende Unterlagen getroffen werden.

Für wen ist ein Document Quick Check sinnvoll?

 

Geschädigte Unternehmen

Sie haben von dem Vorliegen eines Kartells erfahren, von dem Sie ggf. auch einen finanziellen Schaden erlitten haben und fragen sich, wie groß Ihr Schadensersatz ausfallen würde? Wir unterstützen Sie bei der Aufbereitung Ihrer schadens-begründenden Rechnungen und Belege – von der Abholung über die eventuelle Digitalisierung, bis hin zur Datenextraktion.

Prozessfinanzierer

Sie möchten die wirtschaftliche Tragfähigkeit eines konkreten Falls berechnen? Erhalten Sie eine zügige Einschätzung des Schadens-umfangs der zu diesem Zeitpunkt bereits vorliegenden Rechnungen. Auch wenn es nur ein kleiner Ausschnitt des Gesamtvolumens ist, lässt sich auf dieser Grundlage häufig bereits eine Hochrechnung auf den gesamten Kartellfall anstellen.

 

Rechtsanwälte

Sie möchten einen oder mehrere Mandanten bei der Durchsetzung Ihrer Schadensersatzansprüche vertreten und möchten hierzu eine rechtliche Ersteinschätzung bzw. ein Erstgutachten abzugeben? Hierfür können wir Ihnen auf Basis der bereits vorliegenden Unterlagen eine schnelle und zuverlässige Aussage zu dem Umfang und der Zusammensetzung einzelner Einkäufe liefern.

Gutachter / Ökonomen

Sie arbeiten mit einer Kanzlei in einem neuen Kartellfall zusammen und möchten zügig ein erstes Schadensmodell berechnen, ohne sich selbst mit der Generierung der hierfür erforderlichen Einkäufe auf Artikelebene zu beschäftigen? Durch die Lieferung einer validen Datenbasis unterstützen wir Sie dabei, die Schadentheorien zu entwickeln und sich so auf die Gutachtenerstellung zu fokussieren.

Ihre Vorteile durch einen Document Quick Check

i

Mehr Transparenz

Sie erhalten die Grundlage für eine frühzeitige und solide Einschätzung von Chancen, Risiken, Aufwänden und Zeitplanung.

}

Höhere Geschwindigkeit

Die notwendigen Arbeitsschritte werden von Anfang an so strukturiert, dass eine zügige und reibungslose Umsetzung gewährleistet ist.

Bessere Substantiierung

Umfang und Qualität der Dokumenten- und Informationsgrundlagen für die Klage werden von vornherein optimal strukturiert.

Welche Fragen Sie danach beantworten können…

...alles rund um die Dokumente
  • Müssen die Dokumente vom Mandanten abgeholt werden?
  • Wie gut ist die optische Qualität der Dokumente?
  • Müssen die Dokumenten noch oder noch einmal gescannt werden?
  • Lassen sich die benötigten Informationen erkennen und extrahieren?
  • Wie viele verschiedene Layouts befinden sich im Dokumentenbestand?
  • Wie komplex sind die Strukturen der unterschiedlichen Layouts?
  • Welche Belegarten sind enthalten (z.B. Rechnungen, Lieferscheine)?
  • Welche Informationen enthalten die unterschiedlichen Belegarten?
  • Von wie vielen Geschäftspartnern stammen die Belege?
  • Wie verteilen sich die Mengen auf dieses Aspekte?
  • Welche Dokumente und Daten müssen die Mandanten bereitstellen?
  • Können irrelevante Dokumente von vornherein weggelassen werden?
  • Gibt es einzelne Artikel die ausgewertet werden müssen?
  • Welches schadensrelevante Auftragsvolumen ergibt sich pro Dokument?
  • Kann/muss eine Schwärzung auf den Dokumenten erfolgen?
  • Gibt es Kriterien, die eine Verarbeitung erschweren/unmöglich machen?
  • Gibt es konkrete Angaben zu Arbeitsschritten, Aufwand und Laufzeit?
...alles rund um Daten
  • Welches Datenmodell könnte voraussichtlich Anwendung finden (wg. Schadensmodell)?
  • Welche enthaltenen Informationenn werden benötigt? Wie wird die Konsistenz mit dem Datenmodell für Gutachten und rechtliche Argumentation hergestellt?
  • Sind die beleghaften Daten konsistent mit (z.B. aus ERP-Systemen) bereits vorliegenden Transaktionslisten?

So gehen wir gemeinsam vor

  1. Wir legen gemeinsam die Zielsetzung und die relevanten Fragestellungen fest.
  2. Wir schließen eine Vertraulichkeitsvereinbarung (NDA) ab.
  3. Wir schließen einen Vertrag über die (Vor-)Verarbeitung.
  4. Sie stellen uns die Dokumente zur Verfügung, etweder:
    – wir holen uns die Aktenorder/Belege bei den Mandanten ab oder
    – Sie senden uns die Aktenorder/Belege per Kurier/Spedition/Post zu oder
    – Sie laden die bereits elektronisch vorliegenden Dokumente in unser Portal oder
    – wir laden uns die bereits elektronisch vorliegenden Dokumente herunter
  5. Mittels unserer IDP-Plattform verarbeiten wir diese automatisiert und zügig.
  6. In ein bis zwei Iterationen stellen wir Ihnen die Ergebnisse strukturiert bereit und stimmen die Schlussfolgerungen mit Ihnen ab.
  7. Gemeinsam mit Ihnen legen wir auf Basis dieser Ergebnisse das Datenmodell, notwendige Arbeitsschritte und den Zeitplan bis zur Klageeinreichung fest.

 

Diese Erfahrungen haben unsere Kunden gemacht:

„Eine saubere und frühzeitige Aufbereitung der schadensbegründenden Unterlagen ist in einem Kartellverfahren von essentieller Bedeutung. Wird dem nicht von Anfang an die notwendige Beachtung geschenkt, leidet man im Nachhinein an hohen Aufwänden unter teilweise starkem Zeitdruck. Unserer Erfahrung nach ist die inserve GmbH ein starker, verlässlicher und effizienter Partner, wenn es um die Aufbereitung derartiger Schadenssachverhalte geht. inserve liefert qualitativ hochwertige, kostengünstige und zeitnahe Ergebnisse aus der Datenanalyse.“

Dr. Christian Classen

Legal Counsel, CDC Cartel Damage Claims

„Im Rahmen einer massenhaften Auswertung von Daten konnten wir erheblich von der Künstlichen Intelligenz von inserve profitieren. Die von uns benötigten Informationen wurden innerhalb kürzester Zeit bearbeitet und mit sehr guter Qualität zur Verfügung gestellt. Nach kurzer Klärung des Projektauftrages hat das Team von inserve proaktiv Vorschläge für eventuell auftretende Schwierigkeiten aufgrund der Qualität der Datenbasis unterbreitet. Nach gerade einmal 12 Arbeitstagen haben wir die vollständige Auswertung von über 10.000 Transaktionen aus mehr als 40.000 Dokumenten zurückerhalten. Wir sind sehr zufrieden mit den Ergebnissen und würden die Dienstleistung von inserve immer wieder in Anspruch nehmen.“

Tanja Seißer

Leiterin Finanzen & Controlling, HANSA-HEEMANN AG

Demo der Vorgehensweise und Beratung für einen Document Quick Check anfragen

Vereinbaren Sie jetzt einen kostenfreien Termin zur unverbindlichen Beratung für die Durchführung eines Document Quick Checks. In einem gemeinsamen Gespräch kann ich mit Ihnen die vorliegende Problemstellung analysieren und ein bedarfs-gerechtes Konzept, inklusive zeitlichem Ablauf erstellen.

Ben Peters